skip navigation

IIHF Women's World Championship

IIHF Women's World Championship

2016 IIHF Women's World Championship

Recent News

The USWNT most recently earned the gold medal at the 2015 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Malmo, Sweden

The U.S. Women's National Team has taken part in the International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship since it began in 1990. The tournament initially took place in 1990, 1992, 1994 and 1997 until it became a sport in the Olympic Winter Games in 1998. Since that time, the IIHF Women's World Championship has taken place annually with the exception of an Olympic year when it is not held.

The U.S. has played Canada in the gold medal game in all 16 of the events, capturing the event’s top prize the last two years and now a total of six times (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015), including five of the last six tournaments and six of the last eight. Team USA is 63-2-6-8-1 (W-OTW-OTL-L-T) in 80 career games and has outscored their opponents 535-123.